The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter One(4)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Where My Home Village Ends

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 1

If only I could simply pee with a ‘little brother’, not squat down with a ‘black hole’. {Click the link if you want to read Chapter One (3) }

It seemed as if only the rice terraces were my home and only in this way I could live on. When climbing high enough to hide and when calming down, I always looked back at the whole village with a curse. Everything in that image was simple and clear and stamped by that curse. There were only about one hundred families in total; all yellow mud houses with black tiles; a small river running in silence that could never take away my sadness to the sea; almost all the boys were spoiled and that was why girls were bullied, more or less like me; and the mothers, who were born women, could only bend for the fathers, the men who grew rice. It looked so small, yet it seemed so big that I could never understand a thing. Just like I could never understand why then it was so hard for my parents to believe in my words.

For a long period of time, right before I turned seven, there was a great sharp pain in my belly almost every day. It was so painful that I could not even swallow water. With great fear, I pressed hard on my stomach and told my parents, Pain, pain here. But neither believed it. Instead they called me a little liar. Time after time, I got desperate, not bothering to mention any single word of it. But I just buried my head into the pillow and let tears wash my face till I fell asleep with the pain, exhausted.

Strangely, during that time, when I woke up in the morning the pain was not there. And the punishments back.

Once, twice, three times, I thought it was an accident, so I did not believe it. Four times, five times, six times, I thought I was not patient enough, so be patient and keep telling myself, Everything will be all right. Seven times, eight times, nine times, I started doubting myself, the world and everything. Ten times, twenty times, thirty times, I guessed the world went crazy, completely crazy, or I was completely left behind. Fifty times, a hundred times, a thousand times, I truly believed that, when you speak of the devils, the devils shall come. And it was true, as the rain always followed after the thick dark clouds which covered the sun; that could bring me the warmest color, blue, blue…

(Click here to read Chapter Two!)

–Chapter 2 is to be continued…


PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

5 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter One(4)

  1. mbracedefreak says:

    Most Americans and Europeans will never visit China and will be uninformed about the rapid change. When you query an agent or publisher I suggest you tell them what in your novel mirrors your background. Coming from a humble background should work in your favor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

