The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(1)

IMG_3961.JPG

The Winter of My Home Village!

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2

And it was true, as the rain always followed after the thick dark clouds which covered the sun; that could bring me the warmest color, blue, blue… {Click the link if you want to read Chapter 1 }

Day by day, I tried not to fight back to my brother and I managed to do it.

But-

As time went on, sometimes he just attacked by kicking my ass and beating my back with his fists, looking as if he seemed to feel tired of beating me, while I just ran to a dark corner and hugged my head with my hands and had my face buried onto my knees, crouching in the darkness…

Then he stopped doing the same. Instead, he made a deep cut on my right hand close to the wrist, almost reaching the main artery. It wasn’t the pain that scared me but the fine spray of fresh blood and blood red flesh with whitish fat. He ran away instantly with his small knife which was used for sharpening the pencils. I could see he too was a bit shocked and scared by the blood. I didn’t cry out though tears welled in my eyes and blurred my vision. A neighbor happened by, and cleaned the blood with alcohol and bound up the wound with a clean cloth. A scar remains there, though my heart was forced to forget it long time ago.

Afterwards he seemed to take a break without hurting me. However not much later, one noon, I called him for lunch after I finished cooking by myself. Not for a moment would I ever dream that he would run to bolt the kitchen door and finish the food himself while keeping me outside to starve. I stiffened myself with clenched fists. But I knew fighting was just useless and hopeless, probably would make things worse after I had tolerated so many times and so many years. So this was just another time. Tomorrow is another day, I thought.

After that, for a long while, he caught some animals like lizards, caterpillars, ants or spiders and put them on my neck to scare the hell out of me. Every time, I would scream and scream and shout out, I hate you! Go to hell! And my mother told him not to do it again but she knew he would not listen anyway. My father seemed as though he even hated to hear my voice, telling me, Go out if you like screaming! My brother chuckled. I ran away to the river and hid under a big stone, listening to the sound of water…

With the sound of water, I found myself getting calmer and calmer. So every time, when I felt upset, I came to the riverside, picked up some small stones and threw them into the river, one by one. Amazingly, I was amused by the great splash and the small whirlpool formed by the water. When I threw the first one, I just smiled faintly. The next, I threw firmly at a certain point where there was a face similar to my brother’s. And the next, hit it to the shadow of my father’s unclear face, as I was always afraid to look into his eyes. Then, faster and faster, I threw more and more till my hands lost their strength. And then I cried out, buried my face into the cold water.

Afterwards, my mind set in peace as the sun cast the stones in different shapes of golden pouches. Another night was coming. I felt cold. If only I could hide forever like an earthworm.

Thus my mother was calling me back for dinner. She knew I could hear so she would only call me for no more than twice. I was reluctant because more old memories appeared before my eyes as reflections in the water.

* * * * *

To be continued…


PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

4 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(1)

  1. Marc says:

    Hello again
    I finished reading.
    I think i didn’t miss a part. You have ch. 1 1-2-3 and 4. Right?
    And ch.2 1-2
    I will wait for the next part. It is sad to discover it used to be that way and probably still is to a certain point. Many sad stories from many coutries. I do believe you and it is not shocking to me. I am a teacher in China and i heard many stories from my students. It is good to write about it. So much the world doesn’t know.
    Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Cai says:

      Thank you so much, Marc! Yes, I’ll continue on 24th. Really nice to know you here. I like your attitude that somehow encourage me a lot. I believe this mechanical world needs to know more about rarity. You must be a good teacher. May I ask, which city do you teach in China?

      Like

Leave a Reply

