The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(3)

As silent as the bamboo hats.

As silent as the bamboo hats.

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


 It seemed as if all I could bring them was only shame as a dwarf and troubles that I caused endlessly, not even a stroke of good fortune. {Click the link to read Chapter Two (2)}

After that my mother took me out with her to work, but she felt so tired that she was almost incapable of doing it any longer. All the other villagers pitied her when they saw the situation. Especially, it was clear that when moving to the new dirt house, my aunt, who was my father’s younger brother’s wife, wanted to have my grandmother live with them, and my grandfather to live with us. Because of that, my grandmother devoted her life only to the aunt’s family, and there was no way to ask my grandmother to take good care of me, as it was she who strongly favoured boys over girls.

And, in one way or another, my grandmother was regarded as a “capable” woman in other’s eyes, while my grandfather was a “disabled” person. No adults ever tried to talk to him or ask about the wars, not in my hearing. Perhaps the adults were always too busy or too tired to talk to him with his deafness. Or maybe, it was sadness that he was the only one seen alive while many other men from the village, who left the village with him, were either dead or still missing. In a word, he was as abandoned as I was, and the only available person, the best choice.

So finally one evening, my mother couldn’t help but talk to my father and the next morning, he told my grandfather to look after me at home, for better or worse.

* * * * *

My grandfather was a retired soldier, a man who never knew he might get conscripted as an able-bodied man by the Guomintang, the Nationalist Army to fight the Japanese. At that time, he lived in a cabin in the woods, the only house located in a deep remote valley, surrounded by some farmlands, which he cultivated by himself to grow rice and some vegetables. Before the conscription, he had lived in complete isolation from the outside world. Nonetheless, he had a young brother living down in the village, about two hours walk along the wild trail. Unfortunately, there was another man in that village who was unwilling to join the war, but was willing to tell the whereabouts of my grandfather to the conscription people and guide them to catch my grandfather at midnight while he was sleeping. {Click here to read more}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

2 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(3)

Leave a Reply

