The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(5)

A Revolutionary Soldiers Certificate, a diary with the cover of Chairman Mao, a medal from the Korea War.

A Revolutionary Soldiers Certificate, a diary with the cover of Chairman Mao, a medal from the Korea War.

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


His eyes were not good but not bad either. He could see what he liked to see, even though he didn’t like much. {Click the link to read Chapter Two (4)}

However, he could talk well and a lot. He used to talk about the army marching, the bombs and how the bomb made him deaf, the eyeless bullets and how the bullets gave him scars and each scar had its story. In addition, he told how he managed to keep his only diary safe in his pocket and how he kept learning several new characters, even under severe conditions, as often as he could; the military songs and the revolutionary hymns, the riddles that he learned from the army, the scenes of death and dying in the frontline during the war, the broken flag full of bullet holes rising in the wind, some humorous sentences from some leader’s cheerful speeches, the hungers and the thirsts, day and night of holding the ground and fighting for the nation and killing the enemies. What’s more, Once Upon A Time in what battle, the bloody stories in the Korean War and the other short or long unforgettable stories. He was like a hero in my eyes when his words poured out like a flood.

But he never mentioned anything about the family thing. Puzzled as I was, I wondered why.

* * * * *

Nonetheless, I was too young to understand why. But gratefully, it was my grandfather who made me talk, walk, run, climb up and down the hills and mountains, speak to nature.

Because I couldn’t walk at five like the other kids did at the same age, the villagers looked down upon me, my father despised me, my grandmother wanted to give me away, my mother tried once but didn’t want to, so she had me back home. But my grandfather didn’t say a word. I remember the day when my father told him to take care of me at home, he just smiled blandly.

Usually at first he let me crawl on the dirty floor while he finished a pipe of tobacco. Later on, he stretched the long bending bamboo pipe for me to hold. In the early days, I just held the pipe but was afraid to stand up. Then he would lean forward and encourage me, Little Lotus, come on, stand up and catch the pipe. He stepped backwards slowly while my hands still held the end of the pipe. I giggled and he smiled widely. His eyes were patiently waiting for my next move. Soon, I could stand up and not fall down for a whole minute. Shortly, I could walk a bit with feet moving like a robber. Not long afterwards, I could walk properly like a pig for some steps. Several months later, I could run like a rabbit in the hall. And that was the first time ever I saw my father smiling faintly at me.

{Click here to read Chapter Two (6)}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

One thought on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(5)

  1. mbracedefreak says:

    You may want to consider revising this line, “Usually at first. ” English wouldn’t be the character’s native language, so I’m not sure perfection should be a goal. Stephen King and other writers advise others not to overuse adverbs (words ending in ‘ly’. In this case the sentence seems awkward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

