The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(6)

The only photo of my grandfather sitting on a rock outside our house.

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


{Click here to read Chapter Two (5)}

Since then, I often followed my grandfather to search for a better new bamboo pipe from our bamboo forest on the mountain. There was no road but only a rugged snaky muddy mountain path. On the way to the mountain, my grandfather would tell one or two stories which made me laugh and wonder. Then I would ask him back, how come and why so, something like that. Gradually, I started opening my mind and talking to him relaxedly. He would explain as well as he could. Sometimes, for something he could not explain or he thought I was too young to understand, he would just shake his head and sigh. Then he sped up his pace with one leg faster than the other and managed to keep me running after his shadow, quietly.

When seeing a new possible bamboo pipe, I always liked to jump in the wild field and my grandfather would laugh out and say, Hey Little Rabbit, you could jump higher!

When climbing up to the top, both of us got breathless, then we took a short break. Suddenly, he would burst out some words or jokes like, I didn’t know you could climb that fast and win a mountain top like a tiger. I laughed out, proudly.

 When heading down the hill, my grandfather would let me walk before him. Partly, he was afraid that I would get lost or get left behind; partly he liked to see me growing up before him or I liked to show myself to him little by little. Sometimes, I worried about him when it came to a steep muddy wild part. But he always told me that he had faced more dangerous roads during the war and that was just a piece of cake. I half believed it, half doubted it.

Every now and then, I would turn my head back and see he was not too far away. At a certain distance, with the dark forests surrounding us and the blue sky with white clouds above our heads, I stopped going forward and found that my grandfather was not always the big hero as I always saw, nor was he an undefeated soldier as I imagined. He was also a small figure in nature, just like me. But we have big hearts, brilliant minds, deep souls, I believed.

He was moving slower than I thought. When my grandfather arrived by my side he had somewhat lost his breath. He took a rest with his hands on his knees and inhaled a deep breath. Then he sighed, I am getting older and older while you are running faster and faster. Soon, I won’t be able to move a finger while you will become a smart monkey, jumping from one tree to another.  {Click here to read Chapter Two (7)}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

2 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(6)

    • Heather Cai says:

      Bamboo is the connection to my grandfather. I’m not sure how to put it in the first chapter. I’m afraid I can’t do anything about Less Than Mystery at the moment. My aim now is to finish writing In Between, my second English novel. But I thank you so much. I shall put all your kind remarks to my heart.

      Like

Leave a Reply

