The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(7)

The only photo of my grandfather sitting on a rock outside our house.

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


{Click here to read Chapter Two (6)}

It was not funny. It was sad. I knew and I could tell from his long heavy breathless voice.

Years later, he got sick, the same as the other old men in the village. He coughed a lot with sputum and many feelings of discomfort. He not only lost his usual strength but the color on his face and the light in his eyes. Did he surrender to age or did time defeat him? With great sadness I wondered.

Gradually, no more hero could I see from his figure.

Now all that he did was just plant tobacco, only enough for himself to smoke every year, and sometimes, still proudly, mention those glorious days in the wars. Also, during each Spring Festival, he would buy several kilos of fat pork with his pension as a retired soldier and hang it on the beam under the roof with the wind blowing. Then he would stew it by himself on the wood-burning stove and eat alone.

He didn’t like to share it with the family. But no one would like to eat it as it was too fat. Sometimes, I would ask him for one piece to taste and satisfy my curiosity. Generously, he would choose one piece with a little lean meat on it. It tasted good, I told him. And he smiled. Every time, the pork would last two days and he would just cook no more, no less. There was no meat to eat every day, not even every month. So he used to save some for more days and at last, the final meal of the pork got stinky and with maggots on it. But he still would stew it and eat it as usual. He’s not a hero, but probably he’s an iron man, I thought.

Once I asked my grandfather curiously, Do you believe in ghosts?

Impressively, he exclaimed and asked back with a wide smile.

Ghost is ghost. It comes without a shadow and goes without a trace. You cannot tell where it does exist. But only the people who have seen it do believe in the ghost. And if you have seen one, it would just stick in your mind till death. Have you seen any one?

For half a second, I boggled at the thought of telling the ghost story that I had never mentioned to anyone before. I grunted, When speak of the devils, the devils shall come; when speak of the ghost, the ghost shall come. Should I tell my grandfather? Would he believe in what I had seen?

 My grandfather stared at my eyes filled with fear, looking as if he already had read my mind. With a loving smile, he cleared his throat and encouraged me to talk.

Don’t be afraid, tell me Little Lotus. You have done nothing wrong. The ghost would only knock on the door of someone who had done something terribly wrong.

{Click here to read Chapter Two (8)}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

2 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(7)

  1. mbracedefreak says:

    I’ve never heard the word ‘sputum’ used in America. Other English speaking countries may use it, though. You have a good story, but you should consider re-editing if you don’t hear back from an agent. The problems that I see are minor, but agents may not accept those errors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather Cai says:

      Again, thank you so much for your kind reviews. At the moment, I feel the great need to finish writing In Between. I only can do one BIG thing at a time. So I will just let Less Than Mystery be cool till I finish editing In Between. I believe, by the time I finish the second and when I look back at the Fucking Book, the way to feel it will be fucking different too. It’ll worth trying. I hope.

      Like

Leave a Reply

