The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(8)

Picture taken in Yunnan – 2014.3

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


{Click here to read Chapter Two (7)}

I took a long deep breath and asked my grandfather to sit down so that I could reach his ears and make sure that he could hear clearly, so I didn’t need to repeat my words. With a trembling voice, finally I managed to speak out loudly and slowly.

It was an early peaceful evening. Half way up the mountain a sudden, sharp wind blew up. The cold air chilled my bones and nerves. I found myself shivering uncontrollably though my young sister was on my back. The other little girls of my age suddenly stopped pulling up the weeds for pigs and ran away like the rats and mice seeing the hunting cat. While I just stood there shilly-shallying and with my eyes fixing on the opposite side of the mountain which was full of graves, like a lost deer in the dark wet forest.

It took place more than half way up the thick dark damp grave mountain behind my family house. It was a sudden exploding sound like a thundering that scared my playmates and they all disappeared out of my sight immediately. Then an incredible image appeared as the moon moving after my shadow. Both the coffin made of wood and the roof made of tiles broke into pieces, flying around with the sound of bombing. A tall male figure in white Chinese styled long gown all over his body with long straight black hair down to the feet rose up from the coffin. He stepped forward a little like the astronauts landing on the moon, as if he had no weight at all. I tried to recognize the horrific face but the face was the same color as the dress and somewhat covered by the black hair. All I could see was only black and white.

Surprisingly, he started walking towards a big pine tree with big branches and there he started rising up a bit, like the one playing Ch’ing Kung on the wall. He just kept walking to the tree at a sharp angle without his hands touching the tree. It looked as if his hands were crossed behind him or hidden under the loose floating gown in the chilling wind. When he climbed to the top of the tree, he turned left and strode in the air towards another tree without a backward glance. Then one tree after another, with one big step after another, the black and white shape naturally moved to the top of the mountain and disappeared over the skyline.

However, I knew who he was. He was the most respected man in our village. He did all the artistic paintings and handwriting for our wooden furniture like closets, bed frames and cabinets which attracted my eyes all the time. Everyone in the village who could walk joined his funeral, so did I. It was the biggest funeral ever in the village, in my memory. I watched his daughters washing his body and changing his gray Qi-pao into a white one. The most fancy one in the village that he seldom wore before he died, I guessed. He was a kindly old man and a sort of artist in my memories. Every aspect of him would show that he was a supernatural being, a creature of a more supernatural world.

{Click here to read Chapter Two (9)}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

