The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(9)

Less Than Mystery

Heather Cai

Chapter 2


{Click here to read Chapter Two (8)}

A sudden wind blew my hair to my mouth. He must have gone to heaven, right?

My grandfather did not answer me right away. He gave a start when I tapped him on the shoulder. I emphasized the words, Did he rise to heaven?

Yes, I guess he did. Do you want me to? laughingly, he asked back.

Yes, I want all the good go to heaven and the bad to hell, I burst out in answer.

Well said, Little Lotus! See? You are a good talker now. You told the ghost story very well. Don’t be afraid to talk more in the future, okay?

I nodded at his meaningful smile and his look of deep significance.

Why would you like to wash your body with that cold water in the river, even in winter? All of a long sudden, this curious question burst out of my mouth, uncontrollably.

Because of the war, I have to clean the blood, the flesh, the dirtiest, the most cruel part, the most horrific memories and many many nightmares, as I did before. Then I can purify my soul and sleep better.

He paused at some point and then added, I bet you too young to understand what a soul is. Don’t worry; you will understand when you grow up.

I was eager to grow up. So eager that once I even put on a white bra of my mother’s and stared at my flat chest in the mirror. Grow up, grow up, when are you going to grow up? I muttered.

When looking far into the high mountains in the distance, my mind always wandered and wondered, What’s on the other side of the mountains?

Lake? Sea? City? Park? Zoo? Bridge? Rainbow? Or just another mountain?

Is it day or night? Sunny or rainy? Clean or dirty?

Are there many different villages and people?

Is there still a war or fighting happening?

Is there any invisible soul hiding behind there?

Is it belonging to another world?

Or the end of the world?

{Click here to read Chapter Three (1)}

To be continued…

PS:

If anyone who simply likes reading the words, the language, the story, or wants to know more about the character, the mysteries and my world, please feel free to like or comment. Any kind of remark will be highly appreciated.

If any agent or publisher, or anyone who has any connection with any agent or any publisher, would be interested in this Fucking Book, please contact this email:

FB.Heather@Outlook.com

Thank you so much!

6 thoughts on “The Fucking Book – Less Than Mystery – Part One – The Dwarf – Chapter Two(9)

      • mbracedefreak says:

        Your English may be too good and bits of Chinglish would emphasize the cultural difference. You haven’t revealed the age of the storyteller or the reason for her story. In the movie Titanic, the elderly woman tells of her romantic and tragic adventure. You don’t have to reveal the present day persona, but it does have an impact. Not knowing her, present day, persona makes me incapable of judging whether Chinglish should be used, on purpose.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heather Cai says:

        I think I have referred the age before eight years old in the first chapter and referred the age of learning how to walk about five in Chapter Two. So, you can guess how old I was when having an extraordinary time with my grandfather. About six or seven.

        Like

  1. mbracedefreak says:

    I saw her as an adult talking about her childhood. Your sophistication of thought and speech seems above eight year-old mentality. The characters age in the book is known, but I suspected the narrator was older version of the girl. Obviously, she talks and thinks in her native language; which, means you will need an advanced degree of editing–which explains your lack of Chinglish but leaves less latitude on language issues.. A dialog based book would have given you more freedom.

    Like

    • Heather Cai says:

      I’m a product of my thoughts, and my thoughts seem always unbelievably premature. Once I asked a girl why she wouldn’t be my friend at school, and her answer was, “You’re not with us. You talk differently. I don’t understand a single word.…”

      Like

Leave a Reply

